Where to begin?

We first relocated about 5 years ago from my home state of Ohio to sunny south Florida. Luke was only 18 months old, and we were pretty clueless about where to start looking for a home and how it would all work. Fortunately, I was only 26 and the excitement of the move kept me from being too crazy and stressed. We flew down to Florida with really no idea where to begin. It can be intimidating, especially in an area where there are so many different cities to choose from.

We flew down to Florida, with no idea where to begin looking. The first day we looked at a lot of places; some were ok, some were terrible. After going back to the hotel feeling defeated, we called one of Brad’s buddies from college that lived in the area. He introduced us to a friend that was a realtor, and she set up a few places to look at the next day. Surpisingly, we liked almost all of them. We chose one, and that’s how we found our condo in Weston, Florida.

Looking back now, I don’t know how I made it through the house hunting without a major panic attack! I now know to be much more prepared before I step onto the plane. My number one piece of advice for those relocating is to find a realtor, even if you are renting. In most states (not all), the landlord pays the realtors fees and it costs you nothing. Realtors know what places are best for families, and what cities offer homes in your price range. You’ll also find that you can negotiate price much more with a realtor than with something you find on Craigslist.

I’ll be posting some really helpful resources that I use when house hunting in my next post so stay tuned! If you ever have any specific questions about relocating, feel free to comment or email me directly. I can’t promise that I have all the answers, but I’ll do my best!

Until our next adventure,
Moving Mommy

Leave a Reply

