Revelations of a Frustrated Mommy

Yesterday was a challenging day in the Agar household. It seems like the twins have said nothing but “mine, gimme, no way, or not fair” for the last week. Will cries every time he doesn’t get what he wants, he takes stuff from Ella, and Ella is constantly whining. Will also has an unhealthy attachment to a little plastic Mario toy. I swear he hasn’t put it down in over a week. He eats with it, sleeps with it, and it doesn’t leave his hand for more than two seconds. So, yesterday Ella tried to take it from him. That was not a wise move and started an all out war. Will was screaming and it began a tug of war in the kitchen. I was nearly at my wit’s end by this point and was praying that nap time would hurry up.

As the pushing and hair pulling ensued, I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry. Then as I was wishing this “phase” would be over soon, I realized that it will, in fact, be over soon. And that made me sad. Before I know it, they won’t be screaming and crying, they’ll be going off to school and making friends. They won’t turn to me for constant comfort or want to sit on my lap and snuggle. They will soon be independent little kids, not toddlers. They’ll be reading and writing, having sleep overs, and playing sports. Gasp, they are starting to need me a little less every single day!

Those thoughts really overwhelmed me. I just sat on the kitchen floor with my head in my hands and started to cry. Ella and Will immediately stopped fighting and made their way over to my lap, which made me cry harder. As frustrated as I may get with them, I wouldn’t trade one second. Crazy as they are, these are the best days of my life. I vowed to try to relax a little and let them be little, because they won’t be little for much longer!

Until our next adventure,
Moving Mommy

Leave a Reply

