Spring Break

We made it home safely from our adventures in Ohio and Michigan, and I am glad to be home! I LOVE being close enough to visit the family, but I am exhausted. I need a vacation from my vacation!! While in Ohio we were able to visit my grandparents, aunts and uncles, and cousins in just a few short days, which was great. Then in Michigan we did a lot of fun kid stuff!!

IMG_2526

I’ll give you some background on my family. My sister-in-law, Peggy, has three kids; two-year old twins and a seven-year old (sound familiar?). Her 16-year old niece, Monica, also lives with them along with my mother-in-law. Needless to say, when you add four more people the house is insane. So it was four days with four two-year olds, a six-year old, and a seven-year old.

We took them all swimming one evening. Thank goodness Monica was there to help! It wasn’t exactly fun, but the kids had a blast (that was the theme of the week!). The next day we went to Jeepers, which is kind of like ChuckECheese with rides. Again, stressful for the adults but fun for the kids. The last day we were there was my nephew’s 7th birthday party. Eight 6 & 7-year olds for a sleepover?! You can probably guess how that went. Peggy picked them up from school and brought them home to change into their bathing suits. They all came storming in screaming and I thought “This is going to be a nightmare”. We took them swimming and that went pretty well, other than Luke needing to be rescued because he swallowed a bunch of water and thought he was drowning. I was terrified, but he’s fine. We went back home for dinner, ice cream and cake, and movies and popcorn to finish off the night.

Doesn’t sound too bad, right? Well, during this time one kid pooped his pants twice. Another was yelling about how he hated babies, hated pools, etc. They all decided that there was an alien downstairs and wouldn’t stay down there to watch the movie without an adult, and did I mention that someone pooped his pants twice?!! I have vowed not to have any large sleepovers for at least a few more years. Peggy is one brave momma, she was still up with the kids long after I put some ear plugs in and called it a night!!

Overall, it was an awesome trip. Stressful at times, but awesome. Any time my kids are that happy and have that much fun, I’m happy. It’s also really good for them socially, especially the twins.

Until our next adventure,
Moving Mommy

Leave a Reply

