Together with Boston

Boston Strong

My heart is heavy after the tragedy in Boston. I wish that these terrible things didn’t keep happening. I do not remember bombings and shootings from my childhood, maybe they didn’t happen when I was a kid. I wish that I could turn on the news and hear something positive. I wish I could shelter my children from the hate and violence in our world. I wish I could watch the evening news with my family without the fear that my kids would have nightmares. I wish that Luke didn’t have to hide in a closet during a lockdown drill. I wish I could let my kids play in the back yard without having to watch their every move. I wish I had the answers to the questions Luke has about what happened. But I don’t, and I never will. There’s really no way to explain it. So, we pray and cry and look for the heroes among us to see that there is still good in this world. I think the best advice I have ever heard about what to tell your kids during these tragedies came from Mr. Rogers. He said that when he was a kid his mom told him to always look for the helpers. There will always be helpers. My thoughts and prayers go out to everyone affected by the bombings.

Moving Mommy

Leave a Reply

