Purple Week!

I have to admit that my home preschool activities have been lacking the past couple of weeks. I haven’t been making very elaborate sensory bins or art activities, and have mostly just let the twins play and explore outside. I think their natural environment offers them far more learning and sensory experiences than anything I can create, so I’m just going with it.

A few weeks back, our weekly focus was the color purple. Ella and Will are pretty good with their colors, however they do have trouble with recognizing that there are different shades of colors. If I show them something aqua, they may stare at it for a few seconds before realizing that it is a shade of blue. I created this super simple sensory bin with colored and scented rice (I’ll post a how to), leftover easter grass, foam letters, and foam animals.

IMG_2381

I let them choose some kitchen utensils and they were happy exploring it for about an hour. I sat with them and showed them the different color purples and they named the little animals in the bin. Mostly they played with the rice. Smelling it and scooping and dumping it, which is great for their fine motor skills.

IMG_2393

The Easter grass was not a hit. I’m not sure why, but they took it out and never touched it again! This week we are working on the garden. Stay tuned for some fun gardening activities!

Until our next adventure,
Moving Mommy

Leave a Reply

