Nightmares in Potty Training

potty training ecard

I’ve been avoiding posting about potty training because, frankly, I’m a little embarrassed that my kids aren’t even close to being potty trained yet. Luke was fully potty trained by 2.5 except he wore a pull-up at night until his 3rd birthday. I’m lucky if I can even get the twins to sit on the potty, let alone do anything on it.

I waited until they were almost 2.5 to even begin, because I didn’t think that Will was ready before then. We started with the three-day method, which involves letting them run around with no pants for three days. That just resulted in a lot of hands on the privates, and pee all over the house. Not exactly a pleasant experience.

So I waited a week and tried using pull-ups. That was even worse. I would try to make them sit on the potty every 20 minutes or so and it led to them refusing and a lot of pee and poop in more expensive diapers.

Then I decided to take some time off. It’s not like they are going to refuse forever right? They are just trying to exhibit some sense of control over their lives, and I don’t blame them. They have someone pretty much controlling everything they do; every second of every day.

Now we are a little less than 3 months before their 3rd birthday, and I really can’t wait any longer. They are most definitely ready, that is for sure. They simply don’t want to put forth the effort. I’ve tried bribery, rewards, pretty much everything you can think of. Nothing so far. Today Ella has literally been sitting on the potty playing with my phone for most of the day. Still, nothing. I gave her milk and water. Still, nothing. How can she not have to pee by now?!

It has also started some interesting conversations. Ella- “Will has a penis, Luke has a penis, why Ella no penis?”. Luke- “Girls don’t have penises”. Ella- “I want a penis!”. At this point I was laughing uncontrollably in the hall, but felt it was time to change the subject so I intervened and started talking about the potty again.

I’ve tried to use the anatomical names for things, mostly because I don’t want the boys to be snickering in 6th grade health class when they say penis (they probably will anyway, but at least I tried).

Anyhow, does anyone have any suggestions? I’m seriously at a loss, so if anyone has anything that worked well for them, please let me know!! Thanks!

Until our next adventure,

Moving Mommy

Leave a Reply

