Enter Sandman

We have had the play house set up in the backyard for a while, but that’s pretty much it. Between gardening and planting flowers, we have had plenty of things to do back there! I really wanted a sand box though, so yesterday we went to Target in search of one. Who knew that Target doesn’t carry them?! It’s my go to store for everything, so I didn’t even think to look online ahead of time.

Of course, I had made the mistake of telling the twins that we were getting a sand box. Not a good idea. So I bought a long flat Rubbermaid container and figured it would do for the time being. They didn’t have any sand either. I convinced them that going to get the sand after Luke got home from school was a good idea, so we waited and then went to Lowe’s. I happened to notice that they had these small plastic pools that looked similar to the round sand box I was looking for and thought “why not?”. So we bought a $12 plastic pool and 250 pounds of sand and went home. A word of advice, do not try to buy 250 pounds of sand by yourself with three kids. 50 pounds is heavy when it’s in that form!!!

I arrived home and my husband was there so I sent him out to unload. I’m pretty sure he thought I was insane for buying a random kiddie pool for a sandbox, but it ended up working fine! There is no cover, so it’ll get stuff in it, but oh well. I added some cayenne pepper to the sand to keep the bugs out and so far it has worked great!

The kids built sand castles yesterday and little dinosaurs. Will and Ella really enjoy scooping the sand into buckets, which is great for their motor skills! I bought buckets, sifters, and little things to make sand dinos out of at Target in the Dollar Spot. I spent less than $40 and they will enjoy it for the entire summer. I may need to replace the sand, but fortunately it is only $3 a bag!

IMG_2987 IMG_2989

If you are looking for an inexpensive way to keep the kiddos occupied while you are outside, this is great! I hope you are all enjoying your June so far!

Until our next adventure,

Moving Mommy

One thought on “Enter Sandman

Leave a Reply

