Real Food Recipe 1- Kale and Blueberry Smoothie

IMG_3037

Sounds gross, right? If you had told me that I would be eating or drinking something with kale a year ago, I would not have believed you. In fact, I didn’t even know what kale was. It’s an intimidating vegetable, and I haven’t quite figured out how to incorporate it into our weekly veggies but it’s such a nutritional powerhouse that I’m going to. This is my first stab at it, and it worked really well (You can’t even taste it!).

The health benefits of kale are amazing! It is one of those cancer preventing, cholesterol lowering super foods. One cup of kale has more than 100%of the daily recommendations for vitamin C, more than 200% of vitamin A, and more than 600% of vitamin K. It is also a good source of potassium, manganese, iron, and other minerals. Sounds like something we should all be eating right?

375x321_truth_about_kale_features

But how? I don’t know about you, but introducing  new and “strange” vegetable to my kids usually doesn’t go so well. I figured, why not try to hide it in something yummy? And so the Kale and Blueberry Smoothie was born. Did I mention that you can’t even taste the kale?! The kids like it, and I like it so give it a try!

Kale and Blueberry Smoothie

  • 1 cup of fresh kale, roughly chopped
  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries
  • 3/4 cup of frozen tropical fruit medley
  • 2 tsp honey
  • 3 oz vanilla greek yogurt (you could substitute regular yogurt or omit this)
  • 3/4 cup of water

Just throw it all into your blender and blend away! It’s important to use frozen fruit, otherwise it will be runny. I try to use organic ingredients, especially the kale and blueberries (they are most prone to pesticide contamination).  Enjoy!

Until our next adventure,

Moving Mommy

9 thoughts on “Real Food Recipe 1- Kale and Blueberry Smoothie

  1. We do a lot of kale smoothies in our house too. We also like kale salads too. The trick is to massage the kale with the dressing to get rid of the bitter taste. If you need more recipes, I have a few on my blog. We get kale in our CSA box plus what grows in our garden.

  2. Pingback: MMM link up party #7 | Adventures in Mindful LivingAdventures in Mindful Living

  3. Pingback: Blackberry Chia Seed Smoothie | Moving Mommy

Leave a Reply

