Fall is coming! Real Food Recipe- Cinnamon Apple Chips

Today I went grocery shopping and saw tons of Autumn and Halloween themed things out already, which made me a little sad that summer is over but happy because the next 4 months are my favorite time of the year! There were locally grown apples that looked amazing, so I bought a half peck. I got home and thought, why not make apple chips? It would be great for Luke to take as a snack for school. It was quite the experience.

We sliced 6 apples up with my apple peeler/corer/slicer and soaked them in lemon water for a few minutes. Then I put them in my dehydrator and sprinkled them with a little cinnamon. I plugged it in and realized that it was broken. Awesome, I only used it once. I don’t recommend buying the cheapest dehydrator you can find, you get what you pay for!

So there I was with all of these apples and I figured I’d try to do it in the oven. It worked, sort of. I didn’t think that I needed parchment paper because I put them on a sheet with small holes in it in order to cook them evenly. Turns out they stuck, pretty badly. Next time I’ll use parchment paper!! The ones that weren’t completely stuck did turn out really well, and the kids love them. I wish I would have made more!

Cinnamon Apple Chips

6-8 apples- peeled, cored, and sliced very thin

1 lemon

Cinnamon

First prepare your apples and let them soak in water mixed with the juice of one lemon for about 5 minutes. Place the apples in a dehydrator or on parchment paper on cookie sheets. Sprinkle with cinnamon and dehydrate according to manufacturers instructions or place in a 200 degree oven for 45 minutes. Flip the slices over and cook for another 45 minutes to 1 hour. The apples will feel slightly crisp and will crisp more once they are out of the oven. It may take longer depending on the thickness of the slices. Let them cool, but do not leave them out too long or they will start to rehydrate (especially if it’s as humid as it is here!).

Fills approximately one 32oz mason jar

 

20130903-165836.jpg

Leave a Reply

