Dear Judgmental PTO Mom

Dear judgmental PTO Mom,

When I joined my first early childhood PTA in Texas, I figured that I would come across many judgmental, catty moms, but I didn’t. I realized that the majority of us are there for the benefit of our kids and others. And for the support that you can only receive from other moms. In fact, I made friends there that I will have for the rest of my life.

When I moved to New Jersey, I didn’t expect or find anything different. People were kind, welcoming, and invited me places when they certainly didn’t have to accept this newcomer into their lives.

Then I went to my first PTO meeting of the year. And there you were with a group of other new kindergarten moms, laughing at other people and making fun of people’s event and fundraising ideas as though they were beneath you. The rest of us can hear you. The rest of us are here for our children and the school, not to win a popularity contest. I’m sorry that dressing up in a costume and having a dance party/trunk or treat in the school parking lot isn’t appealing to you. It’s not really appealing to me either, but I bet my kids will have the time of their lives. And that is what it’s all about. Our children.

So forgive me if I don’t laugh along with you as you are making other mothers feel less than adequate. I’m there to offer support and help any way I can. I teach my children to be kind to everyone, and I’m sure you do to. I choose to live that way also.

I’m not here to belittle you or make you feel bad. I’m just trying to bring attention to the way you make others feel. It may be unintentional, hopefully it is. Maybe next time you’ll use kinder words, or volunteer for a project that you aren’t thrilled about. I guess we will see!

– Moving Mommy

Leave a Reply

