Why Organic?

Since i started blogging, I have had several people ask me about my changed eating habits. I wasn’t exactly a healthy eater for the majority of my life. I used to eat boxed macaroni and cheese and all sorts of other processed stuff. We ate fruits and vegetables, but most of our side dishes came out of a box. I knew they weren’t really healthy, but I also didn’t think that they were unhealthy. I mean, a box of dried up potatoes is just a box of dried up potatoes, right? Nope, not even close. There are probably 50 ingredients.

I stumbled upon 100 Days of Real Food about a year ago. I wanted the twins to be healthy eaters from the very start, and figured that I would have less trouble with them being picky in the future. The problem was, I didn’t really know what to change to be healthier. So I started following different blogs and websites for ideas, and I was shocked at what I found. I didn’t really know what to believe, so I started researching…a lot.

There’s a lot of conflicting information out there, but I made the decision that I thought was best for my family. When our parents were little there was no such thing as organic. That’s because everything was organic. There were no genetically modified ingredients and produce wasn’t doused in pesticides. Those things have only developed over the past 50 or so years. GMOs were first introduced in the mid-90s, and now nearly 90% of soy, canola, cotton, corn, and sugar beets are GMO. Approximately 70% of all processed food contains GMOs. Are GMOs safe? The FDA has approved them, but there were no long term studies. You aren’t going to keel over and die if you eat something genetically engineered to produce an herbicide, but what are the long term effects on our bodies? We don’t really know. 64 countries, including Australia, Russia, China, and the UK, require GMOs to be labeled. New Zealand, Switzerland, Austria, Hungary, Greece, Luxembourg, and France ban GMOs. They are neither banned nor labeled here in the US. I could talk about this for hours, but I’m not an expert.

Here’s what I do know. Food and skin allergies, auto immune disease, autism, and cancer are all on the rise and no one knows why. Is it GMOs, preservatives, vaccines, pollution, chemicals? Probably a combination of a bunch of things. That’s why I’m trying my best not to put things into our bodies that don’t belong. It can’t hurt to avoid pesticides, GMOs, preservatives, and chemicals in my food.

This is why I choose to eat organic and avoid processed food as much as possible. I encourage you to do some research, there’s tons of info out there!

Do you eat organic? Why or why not?

Until our next adventure,
Moving Mommy

Sources:
Encyclopedia Brittanica
The Earth Institute- Columbia University
CDC
Just Label It
Natural Revolution

2 thoughts on “Why Organic?

  1. Pingback: Clean Eating on a Budget | Moving Mommy

  2. Pingback: 2013- The Food Movement in Review | Moving Mommy

Leave a Reply

