Gluten-Free?

I’ve always been a little skeptical of the gluten-free craze that has taken off over the past several years. It seemed like out of the blue tons of people stopped eating gluten; why? Then I started doing some research, and maybe there is something to it. Obviously, people with Celiac disease cannot have gluten, but that is only about 10% of the population. What I’ve found is that many more people have gluten sensitivities, which can only be diagnosed by cutting out gluten. Many people who I have spoken with feel so much better since going gluten-free. Wheat is in a much different, more processed form than it was when our grandparents ate it. Maybe it’s the gluten, maybe it’s the process used now, I’m not sure. I still didn’t really have any desire to go gluten-free, as it would be a total nightmare for the kids.

Will has eczema, and has since about the time I stopped nursing. It comes and goes, and until now I just used Cetaphil to moisturize his skin and it has worked ok. All of a sudden, it has gotten really bad. He’s covered in it and I feel terrible for him. The only thing the doctors can do is put him on steroids, which I only want to do as a last resort. Hydrocortisone cream works some, but I would much rather find the source of the problem than constantly have to treat it. The problem is that no one really knows what causes it, only that it is an autoimmune condition. That’s probably because it isn’t one thing that causes it in all people.

My goal is to figure out what is causing it in Will. It could be candida overgrowth, an unhealthy balance in gut bacteria, a food allergy, lots of things really. I may not find the answer at all. The first thing that we are doing is cutting out gluten. If it’s a food sensitivity, that is the most likely one. Even if it isn’t, cutting out gluten will help with the other likely culprits too. We will see!

I’m baking a loaf of gluten-free bread right now, wish me luck!

Does anyone have any advice on eczema or going gluten-free? What are your thoughts?

Until our next adventure,
Moving Mommy

4 thoughts on “Gluten-Free?

  1. Pingback: Max Mart | Gluten-free in Ghana

Leave a Reply

