Red Sunshine Juice

20140120-084236.jpg
A week or two ago I tried to do a juice detox. It didn’t go very well, but I’ll be trying again soon:) Something about not eating made me a little crazy and by dinner I couldn’t take it any more. What I did find was that I wasn’t exactly hungry, I just felt the need to eat. It probably has something to do with a  sugar addiction or something. Anyhow, I did create some great juice recipes and continue to juice for breakfast to change things up from my typical smoothie. I find that juicing gives me an extra boost of energy in the morning! Drinking juice on an empty stomach means all of those vitamins and minerals are going straight to our bodies because they do not need to be heavily digested.

I would say this recipe is for “beginning juicers”, as it’s pretty sweet. The idea is to start with 2 or 3 sweet vegetables, and as you become accustomed to the taste cut them down to maybe 1. Even the twins love this one!!

20140120-084257.jpg

Red Sunshine Juice- Yields one 16oz serving

  • 1 cup of organic greens (I rotate the greens that I use each week; spinach, kale, swiss chard, collard greens, etc.)
  • 1 beet
  • 2 carrots or a handful of baby carrots
  • 2 celery stalks
  • 1/2 of a seedless cucumber
  • 1 apple

I typically juice them in the above order, but I’m not sure that it really matters. I refrigerate it for about 30 minutes after juicing so that it is nice and cold! It will last about 12 hours before some of the enzymes start to die off, so drink up!

20140120-084247.jpg

Enjoy!

Moving Mommy

Leave a Reply

