Valentine’s Day Heart Suncatchers

20140204-100457.jpg

I have seen things floating around Pinterest using Borax to make crystals, so I thought I’d try it myself. This activity was super easy and the results were great! The kids really enjoy looking at them hanging in the kitchen window. One word of caution, do the pouring of the Borax yourself, I’m not sure if it’s safe for the kids to touch!!

I started with 4 mason jars filled with very hot water, a box of borax, and some pipe cleaners. I had the twins “help” me form the pipe cleaners into heart shapes, then added a pipe cleaner so they would fit across the glass jars. I added 3 tbsp. of borax per cup of water (for this size jar it was 6 tbsp. total), and added the pipe cleaner heart. Make sure to stir it well so the borax dissolves.

20140204-100508.jpg

Be careful not to let any part of the heart touch the side and make sure it is completely submerged in the water. I let mine sit overnight and it was plenty of time to really crystallize. I have read that you can re-dip them by reheating the water, but I found mine plenty crystallized.

This is how they turned out!

20140204-100521.jpg

They look even better hanging in the window!

20140204-100540.jpg

I found that disposing of the borax was the most difficult part, as I didn’t want to dump it down the sink. I dumped the water in a jug I was throwing away anyway, then pounded on the borax with a fork until the rest came out:)

You could really make any shape out of these, snowflakes, hearts, suns, etc. Have fun and enjoy!

Until our next adventure,

Moving Mommy

20140204-100448.jpgI

One thought on “Valentine’s Day Heart Suncatchers

Leave a Reply

